Pulitzer Prize Winners (Drama)

Can you name the winners of the Pulitzer Prize for Drama?

1918Jesse Lynch Williams
1920Eugene O'Neill
1921Zona Gale
1922Eugene O'Neill
1923Owen Davis
1924Hatcher Hughes
1925Sidney Howard
1926George Kelly
1927Paul Green
1928Eugene O'Neill
1929Elmer Rice
1930Marc Connelly
1931Susan Glaspell
1932George S. Kaufman, Morrie Ryskind, and Ira Gershwin
1933Maxwell Anderson
1934Sidney Kingsley
1935Zoe Akins
1936Robert E. Sherwood
1937Moss Hart and George S. Kaufman
1938Thornton Wilder
1939Robert E. Sherwood
1940William Saroyan
1941Robert E. Sherwood
1943Thornton Wilder
1945Mary Coyle Chase
1946Russel Crouse and Howard Lindsay
1948Tennessee Williams
1949*Arthur Miller
1950*Richard Rodgers, Oscar Hammerstein II, and Joshua Logan
1952Joseph Kramm
1953William Inge
1954*John Patrick
1955Tennessee Williams
1956*Albert Hackett and Frances Goodrich
1957*Eugene O'Neill
1958Ketti Frings
1959*Archibald MacLeish
1960*Jerome Weidman, George Abbott, Jerry Bock, and Sheldon Harnick
1961Tad Mosel
1962*Frank Loesser and Abe Burrows
1965*Frank D. Gilroy
1967Edward Albee
1969*Howard Sackler
1970Charles Gordone
1971Paul Zindel
1973*Jason Miller
1975Edward Albee
1976*Michael Bennett, Nicholas Dante, James Kirkwood Jr., Marvin Hamlisch, and Edward Kleban
1977*Michael Cristofer
1978Donald L. Coburn
1979Sam Shepard
1980Lanford Wilson
1981Beth Henley
1982Charles Fuller
1983Marsha Norman
1984David Mamet
1985James Lapine and Stephen Sondheim
1987*August Wilson
1988Alfred Uhry
1989*Wendy Wasserstein
1990August Wilson
1991*Neil Simon
1992Robert Schenkkan
1993*Tony Kushner
1994Edward Albee
1995Horton Foote
1996*Jonathan Larson
1998Paula Vogel
1999Margaret Edson
2000Donald Margulies
2001*David Auburn
2002Suzan-Lori Parks
2003Nilo Cruz
2004*Doug Wright
2005*John Patrick Shanley
2007David Lindsay-Abaire
2008*Tracy Letts
2009Lynn Nottage
2010Tom Kitt and Brian Yorkey
2011*Bruce Norris
2012Quiara Alegría Hudes
2013Ayad Akhtar
2014Annie Baker
2015Stephen Adly Guirgis
2016*Lin-Manuel Miranda
2017Lynn Nottage
2018Martyna Majok
2019Jackie Sibblies Drury
2020Michael R. Jackson
2021Katori Hall
2022James Ijames
2023Sanaz Toossi
2024Eboni Booth
Quiz Playlist
More Info:
  • No prize was awarded in the years 1919, 1942, 1944, 1947, 1951, 1963, 1964, 1966, 1968, 1972, 1974, 1986, 1997, and 2006.
  • *denotes the winning play/musical also won a Tony Award.
Classic: Type in answers that appear in a list
Last Updated: May 16, 2024
Editor Pick in Literature

Quiz Scoreboard


May contain spoilers

More to Explore

You Might Also Like...

Today's Top Quizzes in Literature

Browse Literature

Today's Top Quizzes in Play

Browse Play

More By:

Quiz Plays Rating Category Featured Created
9,601 4.34 Literature Jun 9, 2010
4,622 4.06 Entertainment Apr 1, 2010
2,677 3.67 Music Oct 30, 2009
1,385 4.17 Entertainment Dec 31, 2009
870 4.67 Entertainment Nov 23, 2010

Go to Creator's Profile

Your Account Isn't Verified!

In order to create a playlist on Sporcle, you need to verify the email address you used during registration. Go to your Sporcle Settings to finish the process.

Report this User

Report this user for behavior that violates our Community Guidelines.