History Quiz / Former Constitutional Monarchies

Random History Quiz

Can you name the former constitutional monarchies using the hints provided?

Quiz not verified by Sporcle

Score 0/25 Timer 08:00
From 1815, ____ was united with Portugal and Algarves until 1889, when Pedro II was deposed by a military coup.
The Anglo-____ Kingdom (1794–1796) existed when the island broke with Revolutionary France and sought military protection from Great Britain.
The Kingdom of ___ existed until 1946 when Tsar Simeon was deposed by the communist assembly.
The Grand Principality of __ was a constitutional monarchy but its ruler, Alexander I, was simultaneously an autocrat and absolute ruler in Russia.
Several times during the 19th century, Napoléon Bonaparte proclaimed himself Emperor of ____.
From 1871 to 1918, as well as many times earlier, ___ was a constitutional monarchy.
___ until 1973 when Constantine II was deposed by the military government.
This US state was an absolute monarchy from its founding in 1810, transitioned to a constitutional monarchy in 1840 with King Kamehameha III, but was overthrown in 1893.
In 1848–1849 and 1867–1918 it was part of Austria-Hungary, and in the interwar period (1920–1944) it remained a constitutional monarchy without a reigning monarch.
The Act of Union, a December 1, 1918 agreement with Denmark, established __ as a sovereign kingdom united with Denmark under a common king. Became a republic in 1944.
__ under Mohammad Reza Shah Pahlavi was a constitutional monarchy, which had been originally established during the Persian Constitutional Revolution in 1906.
__ until June 2, 1946, when a referendum proclaimed the end of the Kingdom and the beginning of the Republic.
___ Empire proclaimed in October 1897 until it was annexed by Japan on August 20, 1910. It succeeded the Joseon Dynasty.
The Kingdom of __ was a constitutional monarchy until 1975, when Sisavang Vatthana was forced to abdicate by the communist Pathet Lao.
__ was twice an Empire: 1822-1823, with Agustín de Iturbide; 1864 to 1867: Maximilian of Habsburg as Emperor.
___ until 1918 when it merged with Serbia and other areas to form Yugoslavia.
From 1399–1950, the Kingdom of ___ was a kingdom of southern India.
___ until May 28, 2008, when King Gyanendra was deposed, and the Federal Democratic Republic of ___ was declared.
___ Empire from 1876 till 1878 and again from 1908 until the dissolution of the empire in 1922.
The ___-___ Commonwealth, formed after the Union of Lublin in 1569 and lasting until the final partition of the state in 1795.
___ from 1139 until 1910, when Manuel II was overthrown by a military coup.
Kingdom of ___ until 1947 when Michael I was forced to abdicate at gunpoint by the communists.
Kingdom of __ until 1918, when it merged with the State of Slovenes, Croats and Serbs into the unitary Yugoslav Kingdom.
The West African __ Empire was a constitutional monarchy before annexation by Morocco and later France, when it became a colony and then a secular Sulfist state.
___ until 1945 when Peter II was deposed by the communist government.

You're not logged in!

Compare scores with friends on all Sporcle quizzes.
Join for Free
Log In

You Might Also Like...

Show Comments


Top Quizzes Today

Score Distribution

Your Account Isn't Verified!

In order to create a playlist on Sporcle, you need to verify the email address you used during registration. Go to your Sporcle Settings to finish the process.

Report this User

Report this user for behavior that violates our Community Guidelines.