Best Play Tony Nominees

Can you name every play that was nominated for the Best Play Tony Award since 1948?

1948Thomas Heggen and Joshua Logan
1949Arthur Miller
1950T.S. Eliot
1951Tennessee Williams
1952Jan de Hartog
1953Arthur Miller
1954John Patrick
1955Joseph Hayes
1956Frances Goodrich and Albert Hackett
1956William Inge
1956Tennessee Williams
1956Jean Giraudoux
1956Enid Bagnold
1957Eugene O'Neill
1957Terence Rattigan
1957Graham Greene
1957Jean Anouilh
1958Dore Schary
1958Morton Wishengrad
1958William Gibson
1958Jean Anouilh
1958William Inge
1958John Osborne
1958Ketti Frings
1958Peter Ustinov
1959Archibald MacLeish
1959Eugene O'Neill
1959John Osborne
1959Harvey Briet and Budd Schulberg
1959Friedrich Dürrenmatt
1960William Gibson
1960Lorraine Hansberry
1960Gore Vidal
1960Paddy Chayefsky
1960Lillian Hellman
1961Jean Anouilh
1961Tad Mosel
1961Dore Schary
1961Brendan Behan
1962Robert Bolt
1962Paddy Chayefsky
1962Harold Pinter
1962Tennessee Williams
1963Edward Albee
1963Herb Gardner
1963Bertolt Brecht
1963Sidney Michaels
1964John Osborne
1964Edward Albee
1964Neil Simon
1964Sidney Michaels
1965Frank D. Gilroy
1965Murray Schisgal
1965Neil Simon
1965Edward Albee
1966Peter Weiss
1966John Osborne
1966Brian Friel
1966Michael Dyne
1967Harold Pinter
1967Edward Albee
1967Peter Shaffer
1967Frank Marcus
1968Tom Stoppard
1968Peter Nichols
1968Neil Simon
1968Arthur Miller
1969Howard Sackler
1969Peter Luke
1969Brian Friel
1969Robert Shaw
1970Frank McMahon
1970Robert Marasco
1970Arthur Kopit
1970Neil Simon
1971Anthony Shaffer
1971David Storey
1971Christopher Hampton
1971Paul Sills
1972David Rabe
1972Harold Pinter
1972Neil Simon
1972Robert Bolt
1973Jason Miller
1973Simon Gray
1973David Storey
1973Neil Simon
1974Joseph A. Walker
1974David Rabe
1974Hugh Leonard
1974Marjorie Barkentin
1975Peter Shaffer
1975Bernard Slade
1975Edward Albee
1975Miguel Pinero
1975Athol Fugard, John Kani, and Winston Ntshona
1975Peter Nichols
1976Tom Stoppard
1976Leslie Lee
1976Jules Feiffer
1976Louis La Russo
1977Michael Cristofer
1977Ntozake Shange
1977Simon Gray
1977David Rabe
1978Hugh Leonard
1978Neil Simon
1978Ira Levin
1978D.L. Coburn
1979Bernard Pomerance
1979Alan Ayckbourn
1979Brian Clark
1979Arthur Kopit
1980Mark Medoff
1980Martin Sherman
1980Samm-Art Williams
1980Lanford Wilson
1981Peter Shaffer
1981Athol Fugard
1981Hugh Leonard
1981Lanford Wilson
1982David Edgar
1982Beth Henley
1982Ronald Harwood
1982Athol Fugard
1983Harvey Fierstein
1983Lanford Wilson
1983Marsha Norman
1983David Hare
1984Tom Stoppard
1984David Mamet
1984Michael Frayn
1984Johanna Glass
1985Neil Simon
1985William M. Hoffman
1985David Rabe
1985August Wilson
1986Herb Gardner
1986Michael Frayn
1986Athol Fugard
1986John Guare
1987August Wilson
1987Neil Simon
1987Tina Howe
1987Christopher Hampton
1988David Henry Hwang
1988Lee Blessing
1988August Wilson
1988David Mamet
1989Wendy Wasserstein
1989Bill Irwin
1989Ken Ludwig
1989Willy Russell
1990Frank Galati
1990Peter Shaffer
1990Craig Lucas
1990August Wilson
1991Neil Simon
1991Timberlake Wertenbaker
1991William Nicholson
1991John Guare
1992Brian Friel
1992John Guare
1992Richard Nelson
1992August Wilson
1993Tony Kushner
1993Wendy Wasserstein
1993Frank McGuinness
1993Tug Yourgrau
1994Tony Kushner
1994Arthur Miller
1994Robert Schenkkan
1994Anna Deavere Smith
1995Terrence McNally
1995Tom Stoppard
1995Emily Mann
1995Jean Cocteau
1996Terrence McNally
1996Sam Shepard
1996David Hare
1996August Wilson
1997Alfred Uhry
1997David Hare
1997Pam Gems
1997Horton Foote
1998Yasmina Reza
1998John Leguizamo
1998David Henry Hwang
1998Martin McDonagh
1999Warren Leight
1999Patrick Marber
1999Martin McDonagh
1999Tennessee Williams
2000Michael Flynn
2000Claudia Shear
2000Arthur Miller
2000Sam Shephard
2001David Auburn
2001Tom Stoppard
2001August Wilson
2001Charles Busch
2002Edward Albee
2002Mike Poulton
2002Mary Zimmerman
2002Suzan-Lori Parks
2003Richard Greenberg
2003Matthew Barber
2003Rupert Holmes
2003Nicholas Wright
2004Doug Wright
2004Nilo Cruz
2004Byrony Lavery
2004William Nicholson
2005John Patrick Shanley
2005Michael Frayn
2005August Wilson
2005Martin McDonagh
2006Alan Bennett
2006Martin McDonagh
2006David Lindsay-Abaire
2006Conor McPherson
2007Tom Stoppard
2007Peter Morgan
2007Douglas Carter Beane
2007August Wilson
2008Tracy Letts
2008Tom Stoppard
2008Conor McPherson
2008Patrick Barlow
2009Yasmina Reza
2009Moisés Kaufman
2009Horton Foote
2009Neil LaBute
2010John Logan
2010Sarah Ruhl
2010Geoffrey Nauffts
2010Donald Margulies
2011Nick Stafford
2011David Lindsay-Abaire
2011Jez Butterworth
2011Stephen Adly Guirgis
2012Bruce Norris
2012Jon Robin Baitz
2012Rick Elice
2012David Ives
2013Christopher Durang
2013Richard Greenberg
2013Nora Ephron
2013Colm Tolbin
Quiz Playlist
More Info:
  • The winning play of each year will be on top. After that, the other nominees will be listed in alphabetical order.
Classic: Type in answers that appear in a list
Last Updated: Feb 16, 2017

Quiz Scoreboard


May contain spoilers

More to Explore

You Might Also Like...

Today's Top Quizzes in Entertainment

Browse Entertainment

Today's Top Quizzes in Play

Browse Play

More By:

Quiz Plays Rating Category Featured Created
102,069 4.06 Miscellaneous Feb 15, 2014
2,130 4.25 Entertainment Nov 21, 2013
893 2.50 Entertainment Nov 1, 2013
332 3.83 Geography Jan 4, 2014
260 4.75 Geography Jan 4, 2014

Go to Creator's Profile

Your Account Isn't Verified!

In order to create a playlist on Sporcle, you need to verify the email address you used during registration. Go to your Sporcle Settings to finish the process.

Report this User

Report this user for behavior that violates our Community Guidelines.