What School Has the Most Heisman Trophies?

(Last Updated On: October 8, 2019)
What School Has the Most Heisman Trophies?

The Heisman Memorial Trophy is the highest honor that can be awarded to an American college football player. Each year, the Heisman Trust gives the award to the country’s most outstanding player. If you want to learn more about the award itself, we’ve written about the history of the Heisman Trophy before.

But in this post, we’ll be looking at what school has the most Heisman Trophies. Because the award is given to the best college football player each year, most wouldn’t think that it wouldn’t really matter where these athletes decide to play–but that’s not entirely true.

Going to a powerhouse program, where you can play in high profile games that draw national attention, certainly can help your chances. If you don’t believe us, check out the list below.

What School Has the Most Heisman Trophies?

Notre Dame (7): 

Angelo Bertelli (1943),  John Lujack (1947), Leon Hart (1949), John Lattner (1953), Paul Hornung (1956), John Huarte (1964), Tim Brown (1987)

Ohio State (7): 

Les Horvath (1944), Vic Janowicz (1950), Howard Cassady (1955), Archie Griffin (1974), Archie Griffin (1975), Eddie George (1995), Troy Smith (2006)

Oklahoma (7): 

Billy Vessels (1952), Steve Owens (1969),  Billy Sims (1978), Jason White (2003), Sam Bradford (2008), Baker Mayfield (2017), Kyler Murray (2018)

USC (7)*: 

Mike Garrett  (1965), O.J. Simpson (1968), Charles White (1979), Marcus Allen (1981), Carson Palmer (2002), Matt Leinart  (2004), Reggie Bush (2005)*

*Reggie Bush voluntary vacated his trophy following an NCAA investigation into USC.

Next In Line

As you can see, Notre Dame, Ohio State, Oklahoma, and USC top our list of schools with the most Heisman Trophies. Unsurprisingly, these are also among college football’s best programs. 

For those wondering, the next closest schools on the list–Army, Auburn, Florida, Florida St., Michigan, and Nebraska–each have 3 Heisman Trophies a piece. 

Who do you think will win the trophy this year? Let us know in the comments below.