18 Interesting Facts About Canadian Provinces

Facts About Canadian Provinces

As the second largest country in the world, in terms of total area, Canada boasts a wide variety of landscapes, each with their own unique history. Consisting of ten provinces and three territories, this country is known for its cold weather, love for maple syrup, and extreme politeness, among other things. In this post you’ll find a handy list of Canadian provinces and territories, as well as a few interesting facts about Canadian provinces.

18 Interesting Facts About Canadian Provinces


Over half the population lives in only two cities. Despite having quite a large population of 4.28 million people, over 60 percent of the entire provincial population of Alberta lives in the cities of Calgary and Edmonton.

It has the oldest national park in Canada. Alberta happens to be home to five beautiful national parks, but only one of them gets the coveted title of the oldest national park in the entire country. Banff National Park was officially established way back in 1885 and is not only the oldest national park in Canada, but the fourth oldest national park in the world as well.

British Columbia

Was the last province to host the Olympics. Canada has only hosted the Olympics three times in history. The first being in Montreal in 1976, the second being in Calgary in 1988, and the third and last time being in Vancouver in 2010.


There are over 100,000 lakes. Throughout the entire province of Manitoba, there are scattered lakes of all sizes. If you added them all up, there would be over 100,000 of them! It is estimated that as many as 90 percent of them still remain nameless.

It is the polar bear capital of the world. The extremely cold winter temperatures of this prairie province make it ideal for the country’s population of polar bears to settle. The northern town of Churchill, Manitoba is known as the polar bear capital of the world.

Speaking of capitals, do you know why Ottawa is the capital of Canada?

New Brunswick

It is the only bilingual province. Despite Quebec’s extremely large French population, it is not officially a bilingual province. New Brunswick is the only province in Canada that includes both French and English as its official languages.

Over 80 percent of the province is covered in forest. Due to its close proximity to the ocean, New Brunswick is suitable for trees to flourish. This has resulted in about 83 percent of the province being covered in forest.

Newfoundland and Labrador

The last province to join Canada. Despite being one of the first Canadian areas to be settled by European explorers, the province was not officially entered as a part of the Canadian Confederation until 1949.

It has the oldest city in Canada. The capital city of St. John’s is not only the oldest city in Canada, but among the oldest in all of North America, existing on maps as early as 1519.

Northwest Territories

Is the diamond capital of North America. The northern area was once known for its large gold mining operation but has since switched its shift to diamonds and become the diamond capital of North America.

Nova Scotia

It was once French. The tiny Atlantic province was once ruled by the French monarchy when it was settled by French explorers in 1605. Then starting in 1654, the British Empire launched an invasion on the area and overtook power from the French.


It did not exist until 1999. Up until almost the turn of the century, the only two territories in Canada were the Northwest Territories and Yukon. It was not until 1999 that the Northwest Territories was split up and the largest chunk of it was renamed Nunavut.

Check out these other unusual place names in Canada.


It borders the most US states. With such a massive horizontal span, it is no wonder that Ontario holds the record for highest number of bordering US states. A total of five states border this province, despite the fact that three of them share no land border and are instead separated only by water.

It is the nickel capital of the world. Those famous Canadian nickels had to come from somewhere, despite being only about 2 percent actual nickel. Currently, it turns out that place is in Ontario. The town of Sudbury, Ontario, is the nickel capital of the world.

Prince Edward Island

It is the smallest province. Made up of only one island, the province of Prince Edward Island is by far the smallest province in Canada with a total area of only 5,660 km² and a population of just over 150,000 people.


It has French as its official language. The Official Language Act was passed in 1974. This made French the official language of Quebec rather than English.


It is responsible for the training of the RCMP. Even though the Royal Canadian Mounted Police headquarters building is located in Ontario, the RCMP training facility is located in Regina, Saskatchewan.


There is no sun for 24 hours. Due to its close proximity to the Arctic Circle, the territory of Yukon experiences midnight sun, meaning it has one day a year where the sun remains risen for 24 hours. Conversely, they also have one day a year where the sun remains hidden for 24 hours.

Did you like these facts about Canadian provinces and territories? Check out these other posts filled with interesting geography facts:

Or, test your trivia skills in the quiz below!