Teams That Haven’t Won a World Series – A Quick Rundown

(Last Updated On: October 16, 2019)

Teams That Haven’t Won a World Series
On November 1, 2017, the Houston Astros defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-1 in Game 7 of the World Series. It was the first World Series championship in the history of the franchise, which was established in 1962 as the Houston Colt .45s. Today, there are just 7 remaining teams in Major League Baseball that have not won a World Series – one of which has never even been to the championship series. So, what are the teams that haven’t won a world series? Check out the list below!

Here Are the 7 Teams That Haven’t Won a World Series:

Texas Rangers (1961)

The Rangers were founded in 1961 as the Washington Senators, before relocating to Arlington, Texas, in 1972. The Rangers were able to reach to World Series in back-to-back years in 2010 and 2011, but would lose to the San Francisco Giants and St. Louis Cardinals, respectively. Despite making the postseason three of the next six seasons, they have yet to reach the Fall Classic again.

Milwaukee Brewers (1969)

The Brewers were initially founded as the Seattle Pilots in 1969 before relocating to Milwaukee a year later. The Brewers have only reached the postseason four times in their history. They did manage to make the 1982 World Series against the St. Louis Cardinals, but would end up losing in seven games.

San Diego Padres (1969)

The San Diego Padres were also founded in 1969. They have managed to reach the World Series twice in their history, but have not been able to win it all. In 1984, they lost in five games to a very good Detroit Tigers team. In the 1998 World Series, the Padres were swept by the New York Yankees, who had won 114 games during the regular season.

Washington Nationals (1969)

The Washington Nationals were founded as the Montreal Expos in 1969, before moving to D.C. in 2005. That Nationals/Expos have won five NL East Division titles (1981, 2012, 2014, 2016, 2017), and in 2019 finally reached their first World Series as the Wild Card team.

Seattle Mariners (1977)

Founded in 1977, the Seattle Mariners are the only active MLB team to never reach the World Series. The Mariners have come close, reaching the ALCS in 1995, 2000, and 2001, but have never been able to get over the hump. The Mariners have not been back to the playoffs since 2001, the same year they tied the MLB record for regular season wins with 116. They currently have the longest postseason drought in baseball.

Colorado Rockies (1993)

The Colorado Rockies were founded as an expansion team in 1993. Though they have never won their division, they have made the postseason on four occasions as a wild card team. They were able to reach the World Series in 2007, but were no match for the Boston Red Sox. They were swept in four games, and were outscored 29-10 during the series.

Tampa Bay Rays (1998)

The Rays were founded as the Tampa Bay Devil Rays in 1998. Known for being a traditionally low-budget team, the Rays were able to turn things around in 2008, reaching the World Series for their first and only time. They would lose to the Philadelphia Phillies in five games, and though they would make the postseason again three of the next five seasons, they never got past the Division Series.

That wraps up our list of teams that haven’t won a World Series. Which of these teams do you think will be first to get off this list? Let us know in the comments below. And make sure to check out, where you can find thousands of Baseball quizzes.



About Mark Heald 221 Articles
Mark Heald is the Managing Editor of He enjoys spending time with his family, traveling, and bemoaning the fact the Sonics left Seattle.